publicsafety contacts alumni bookstore library calendar home
MAC Honor Society Inducts 11 New Members
4/6/2017 1:00:00 AM
By: Sarah Haas, Communications Director

(PARK HILLS) – The Mineral Area College Lambda Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 11 new members during ceremonies held March 23 at Long Memorial Hall in Farmington.

The new members inducted were:

Shellby Boyer, Park Hills; Austin Schwent, Bloomsdale; Katelyn Roth, Bloomsdale; Hunter Draffen, House Springs; Ricardo Devoto, Argentina; and Marcos Devoto, Argentina; back row, from left, Cammie Buford, Middle Brook; Bryanne Roth, Perryville; Joanna Royer, Fredericktown and Kallie Pearl, Ironton.

The Lambda chapter of Phi Theta Kappa also honored MAC English Instructor Emily Murdock for her many accomplishments during the years she advised MAC PTK, 2010-16. PTK’s accomplishments during her advisory tenure include: a mini-conference featuring leadership development skills; “mental-health break” activities to combat student depression and anxiety during finals week; international awards for faculty advisors Jenny Beck (a Paragon Award, for advisors serving fewer than 4 years) and Emily Murdock (a Distinguished Advisor Award, for those serving more than 4 years). PTK won many regional awards, as well.

PTK at MAC is now advised by three faculty members: Dr. Amy Henson, professor of business education; Lana LaBruyere, assistant professor of business education; and Alison Sheets, Career Services director.

Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society of two-year colleges. MAC’s chapter was founded in 1926 when the college still operated as Flat River Junior College out of the old Flat River High School building. Its hallmarks are fellowship, service, leadership, and scholarship.

Related Link: