Applicants must be at least 18 years of age at the beginning of the training course. State certification testing will be withheld until the trainee turns 21 years of age.
Must have a high school diploma/GED, US Birth Certificate or proof of US citizenship, and a valid Missouri driver's license.
Applicants will have to pass a reading comprehension and psychological exam, physical assessment, and an extensive background check before being accepted into the law enforcement academy.
Trainees are required to pass the Missouri Certification Examination at the end of the training to receive state certification. Trainees who fail this examination after three attempts shall repeat the basic training or wait one year from the third attempt to take the exam again.
The 1000 Hour Day Law Enforcement Academy includes 600 hours of basic training plus 400 hours of advanced training. It runs two semesters starting in August and graduating in May of each year. Classes run Monday/Wednesday/Friday from 0800–1400 hours and Tuesday/Thursday from 0800–1500.
The 1000 Hour Evening Law Enforcement Academy includes 600 hours of basic training plus 400 hours of advanced training. It runs two semesters starting in January and graduating in December of each year (the evening academy is not in session during the summer). Classes run Monday-Friday from 1700–2200 hours and some 8-hour Saturdays from 0800–1700.
Breakdown of Fees:
- Application & Testing Fee: $100
- Fingerprint and Background Fee: $44.80*
- Lab Fee: $500
- Uniforms: $750*
- Books: $180*
- Graduation Fee: $50
* = Amounts are approximate and subject to change